Governing Board

The governing board consists of the president, the chancellor and the two vice-presidents. It manages the university's day-to-day business and decides on the distribution of the positions and funds allocated to the university.


The president represents the university externally. He gives initiatives for the development of the university and drafts the outlines of the university policy objectives. The President is the supervisor of the scientific and artistic officials working at the university as well as the employees in the service of the Free State of Bavaria and the Chancellor.


Prof. Dr. Christoph Wünsch

President | Vice Chairman of the Academy of Music


Marion Probst

President's anteroom

Cordula Jeßberger

Personal Assistant to the President | General Press and Public Relations

Vice Presidents

Two vice presidents support the president in the management of the university. They hold this position in addition to their reduced teaching duties.

Prof. Rudolf Ramming

Vice President | Piano

Prof. Dr. Andreas C. Lehmann

Vice President | Systematic Musicology


Carolin Göpfert

Anteroom of the Vice Presidents


The chancellor is the head of the university administration, budget officer and supervisor of non-artistic or non-academic staff.

Roland Ulsamer



Birgit Baumann

Chancellor anteroom