University Council (Hochschulrat)

The University Council consists of the elected members of the Senate and nine personalities from science, culture, business and professional practice. It is one of the central organs of the university and has a term of office of four years. Among other things, the University Council adopts the basic regulations and their amendments by statute, elects the president and the other members of the university management except the chancellor.

The members of the governing board and the women's representative participate in the meetings without voting rights; the Ministry of State is invited to the meetings.

External members


Prof. Dr. Christoph Reiners

Vorsitzender des Hochschulrats | Seniorprofessor der Universitätsklinik Würzburg

Other external members

Anja Flicker

Mitglied des Hochschulrats | Direktorin der Stadtbibliothek Essen

Klaus Herzog

Mitglied des Hochschulrats | Präsident des Landesamtes für Finanzen Würzburg

Philipp C. A. Klais

Mitglied des Hochschulrats | Geschäftsführer Klais Orgelbau Bonn

Dr. Marlene Lauter

Mitglied des Hochschulrats | ehem. Leiterin des Museums im Kulturspeicher

Thomas Rietschel

Mitglied des Hochschulrats | Kulturberater | ehem. Präsident der HfMDK Frankfurt (Main)

Prof. Dr. Barbara Sponholz

Mitglied des Hochschulrats | Vizepräsidentin der Universität Würzburg

Jürgen Wagenländer

Mitglied des Hochschulrats | Vorstandsmitglied Sparkasse Mainfranken Würzburg

Prof. Dr. Thomas Wosch

Mitglied des Hochschulrats | Musiktherapie FHWS Hochschule für angewandte WIssenschaften Würzburg-Schweinfurt

Internal members

Representatives of the professors

Prof. Stefan Albers


Prof. Alexandra Coku

Vocal Performance

Prof. Bernhard Pichl

Jazz Piano | Jazz History

Prof. Jürgen Ruck

Guitar | Dean of Studies | Speaker of the Guitar Section

Prof. Matthias Tschirch

Music theory

Representatives of the artistic staff and lecturers

Markus Sotirianos

Music theory

Representative of the other employees

Andreas Herold

Head of Stage technology management

Student Representation

Florian Öttl

Studierendenvertretung | Vertretung in Senat und Hochschulrat

Stefan Schneider

Studierendenvertretung | Vertretung in Senat und Hochschulrat

Advisory members by virtue of office

Prof. Dr. Andreas C. Lehmann

Vice President | Systematic Musicology

Prof. Katharina Thoma

Head of Opera School | Deputy Women's Representative

Prof. Rudolf Ramming

Vice President | Piano

Roland Ulsamer


Prof. Dr. Christoph Wünsch

President | Vice Chairman of the Academy of Music