The Senate is one of the central organs of the university and consists of 15 members. It decides on matters of fundamental importance for teaching and research, in particular on the establishment, modification and cancellation of study programmes. It shall give its opinion on the proposals of the Appointment Committees for the appointment of professors. In addition, the Senate decides on proposals for the appointment of honorary professors and on the granting of dignity to an honorary member of the university, an honorary senator or an honorary citizen.

Members by virtue of office

President (Chair)

Prof. Dr. Christoph Wünsch

Präsident | Musiktheorie | stellv. Vorsitzender der Musikalischen Akademie

Chancellor (Vice-Chair)

Members by election

Fachgebiet I (Gesang/Opernschule | Dirigieren)

Fachgebiet V (Jazz | Perkussion)

Fachgebiet VI (Orgel/Kirchenmusik | Historische Instrumente | Komposition/Musiktheorie)

Fachgebiet VII (Musikpädagogik | Musikwissenschaft)

Fachgebiet VIII (Kammermusik | Liedbegleitung/Korrepetition | Gitarre | Akkordeon | Harfe)